United Benefice of Thornhill & Whitley Lower

Serving our local communities

Previous Rectors

Rev John Michell BD, FRS: 1724-1793

 MemorialMemorial to John Michell in tower of the church

Michel plaque

Blue plaque to commemorate the work of John Michell.

The plaque was unveiled by the Mayor of Kirklees Cllr Jean Calvert on the morning of Saturday September 8th. The plaque was provided by 'Dewsbury Matters'. At the ceremony, Chris Butlin from the Institute of Physics, gave an address - click here to view. He was dressed in the style of Henry Cavendish (a friend of Michell) and spoke as if he was Cavendish.

There is also a pamphlet available written by Chris Butlin - click here to view. You may view this document but copyright is retained. Please ask permission to reuse from butlinca@aol.com 

The definitive book about Michell by Russell McCormmach is available from Amazon at £191.68.

A talk by Chris Butlin and a PowerPoint presentation is available with copyright restrictions as above -  click here to view

Dignitaries at unveiling 

Left to right:

Cllr Ahmed; Chris Butlin; Margaret Watson, Mayor, David Powell (Head Science College), Lindsay Dew (Rector).

Pictures of Previous Rectors

Rectors of Thornhill Board 

TPC Rector Canon Hayman 1877Canon Hayman, 1907

TPC Rector UnknownRector Canon Joshua Ingham-Brooke, 1867 


  TPC Rector Rev Grenside 1889Rector Rev Grenside, 1880


Bishop Walsham How  Bishop Walsham How



Robert EllerbyRobert Ellerby, 15 July 1787, Curate Licensing at Thornhill 

in many ways acted as Rector doing all baptisms, weddings and funeral for many years.

This history about his portrait

by Elaine Burford is very interesting.

click here to read 



TPC Rector Christopher Spafford 1961 Rector Christopher Spafford, 1961 


TPC Rector Canon Coney 1940Rector Canon Coney, 1940                  


 Rector Nicholas WebbRector Rev Nicholas Webb, 1970-1992

 Rector Ron HowellRector Rev Ron Howell, 1993 - 1996

Rector Canon Lindsay Dew

Rector Canon Lindsay Dew, 1996-2009

Sue Clarke 2010-2017

Susan Clarke 2010-2017